MS Brain Health Newsletter September 2019

MS Brain Health in Scotland 

Around 60 people living with MS attended a special event in Edinburgh in August, to hear about latest research into MS, the importance of brain health and why social capital must be an integral part of medical care for MSers.
The event was hosted by Oceans of Hope, which sails around the world crewed by people living with MS. Leith Harbour provided the perfect setting for berthing the yacht.

Speakers included MS Brain Health chair Professor Gavin Giovannoni, Dr Saúl Reyes, Dr Mikkel Anthonisen (Founder of Oceans of Hope) and Dr David Hunt from the Anne Rowling Regenerative Neurological Clinic. MS Scotland and European Multiple Sclerosis Platform also participated.


Visit MS Brain Health at ECTRIMS  

Come and see us at Stand D63 at the European Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis in Stockholm, Sweden (Wednesday 11 – Friday 13 September).

We will have copies of our popular resources, including a new summary of the MS Brain Health consensus standards, which outline a practical timeline for brain health-focused care in MS. 



These quality standards provide MS teams with a framework for service evaluation, benchmarking and improvement.  We are keen to meet with clinicians and healthcare professionals at ECTRIMS who would be interested in checking out how their own centres match up to these standards. Please come and talk to us or email us
Thank you to all our supporters for continuing to share information about brain health. Are you planning an MS event or presenting at a local meeting? If so, download our resources to distribute at the event.

Please do keep us updated on all your brain health activities – we would love to find out what you have been up to!

You can follow us on Twitter @MSBrainHealth to keep up with the latest news.
Thank you for your continuing support!
Gavin Giovannoni, MD

Professor of Neurology and Chair of the MS Brain Health Steering Committee

On behalf of the MS Brain Health Steering Committee: Gavin Giovannoni, Peer Baneke, Helmut Butzkueven, Jodi Haartsen, Jeremy Hobart, Gisela Kobelt, Christoph Thalheim, Tony Traboulsee, Tim Vollmer and Tjalf Ziemssen

Related content