MS Brain Health Summer 2018 Newsletter

New endorsement from the German MS Society 

Deutsche Multiple Sklerose Gesellschaft (DMSG) has become the latest organization to endorse the policy report, Brain health: time matters in multiple sclerosis. We now have 49 endorsing groups spreading the time matters message.  

Our guide for people with MS is available in German (and 16 other languages), and more German translations are coming soon.

Collaboration with MS Societies

This summer, MS Brain Health has been working with MS societies across the globe to:

  1. identify barriers to high quality MS care
  2. look for ways to work together to tackle these barriers.

We are very grateful to all the MS Societies that have taken part in our survey and telephone interviews so far and we look forward to sharing the findings with endorsing groups at ECTRIMS 2018.

Presentation at MS conference in India

Professor Jeremy Hobart was honoured to present the recommendations of Brain health: time matters in multiple sclerosis and participate in a wide-ranging Q&A discussion at the Indian Committee for Treatment and Research in Multiple Sclerosis (ICTRIMS) meeting in July. The response from attendees was extremely positive, with huge demand for printed MS Brain Health resources. We hope to participate in more events in India in the future.

ePoster on new clinical quality improvement tool

A new clinical quality improvement tool based on our consensus standards for timely MS care is currently being trialled at several international sites. We are delighted that our work to develop this tool has been accepted for presentation as an ePoster at ECTRIMS 2018. We are looking forward to presenting more details in October!

You can follow us on Twitter @MSBrainHealth to keep up with the latest news. Thank you for your continuing support!


Gavin Giovannoni, MD
Professor of Neurology and Chair of the MS Brain Health Steering Committee

On behalf of the MS Brain Health Steering Committee: Gavin Giovannoni, Peer Baneke, Helmut Butzkueven, Jodi Haarsten, Jeremy Hobart, Gisela Kobelt, Christoph Thalheim, Tony Traboulsee, Tim Vollmer and Tjalf Ziemssen

Related content